Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Salt to the Sea : A Novel  Cover Image Book Book

Salt to the Sea : A Novel / Ruta Sepetys.

Sepetys, Ruta, (author.).

Summary:

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people-adults and children alike-aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff-the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780399160301
  • ISBN: 0399160302
  • Physical Description: 391 pages : maps ; 22 cm
  • Publisher: New York : Philomel Books, 2016.

Content descriptions

General Note:
Publisher, publishing date and paging may vary.
Target Audience Note:
12-17 years
HL 560 Lexile.
HL560L Lexile
Decoding demand: 99 (very high) Semantic demand: 100 (very high) Syntactic demand: 80 (high) Structure demand: 88 (very high) Lexile
Study Program Information Note:
Accelerated Reader AR UG 4.5 10.0 179545.
Accelerated Reader AR UG 4.5 10 179545.
Awards Note:
Goodreads Choice Award Winner 2016
Gateway Nominee, 2018-2019.
Subject: World War, 1939-1945 > Fiction.
Refugees > Fiction.
Genre: Teen fiction.

Available copies

Holds

  • 1 current hold with 76 total copies.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Cass County Library-Archie YA SEP 2016 (Text) 0002205212356 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Cass County Library-Drexel YA SEP 2016 (Text) 0002205212364 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Cass County Library-Garden City YA SEP 2016 (Text) 0002205212323 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Cass County Library-Harrisonville YA SEP 2016 (Text) 0002205212307 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Cass County Library-Northern Resource Center YA SEP 2016 (Text) 0002204990283 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Cass County Library-Northern Resource Center YA SEP 2016 (Text) 0002205212349 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Cass County Library-Pleasant Hill YA SEP 2016 (Text) 0002204851584 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Adair County Public Library TEEN F Sepetys (Text) 34029002259801 Teen Fiction Available -
Albany Carnegie Public Library YA FIC SEP (Text)
Gateway: Award Nominees 2018-2019
35615000041667 Young Adult Fic Available -
Barry Lawrence - Aurora Library Y FIC SEP (Text) 37884102825332 Teen Available -

Electronic resources



Additional Resources