Record Details


Available copies

  • 8 of 9 copies available at Missouri Evergreen.

Current holds

0 current holds with 9 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Jefferson County Library-Arnold TB GRAPHIC ALMOST (Text) 30061040081842 Teen Graphic Novels Available -
Jefferson County Library-Northwest TB GRAPHIC HA (Text) 30051070058927 Teen Graphic Novels Checked out 11/23/2021
Little Dixie - Main Library - Moberly YA ALMOST (Text) 2004431539 YA - Graphic Novels Available -
Neosho Newton - Neosho HA, ROBIN (Text) 34162002051413 YA Graphic Novel Available -
Stone County-Blue Eye YB Ha (Text) 31358001276117 Young Adult Biography Available -
Stone County-Crane YB Ha (Text) 31358001276125 Young Adult Biography Available -
Stone County-Galena YB Ha (Text) 31358001276133 Young Adult Biography Available -
Trails Regional-Knob Noster B HA (Text) 2204942588 Adult Non-Fiction Available -
Trails Regional-Warrensburg B HA (Text) 220494257+ Adult Non-Fiction Available -

Record details

Content descriptions

General Note:
Chiefly illustrations.
Summary, etc.:
A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. This nonfiction graphic novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together.So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation--following her mother's announcement that she's getting married--Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to--her mother.Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined.
Study Program Information Note:
Accelerated Reader AR MG+ 3.4 2 507208.
Subject: Ha, Robin > Comic books, strips, etc.
Ha, Robin > Juvenile literature.
Ha, Robin > Cartoons and comics.
Authors, American > Virginia > Falls Church > Biography > Comic books, strips, etc.
Authors, American > Virginia > Falls Church > Biography > Juvenile literature.
Emigration and immigration > Comic books, strips, etc.
Emigration and immigration > Juvenile literature.
Immigrants > Comic books, strips, etc.
Immigrants > Juvenile literature.
Mothers and daughters > Comic books, strips, etc.
Mothers and daughters > Juvenile literature.
Single mothers > Comic books, strips, etc.
Single mothers > Juvenile literature.
Teenage girls > Identity > Comic books, strips, etc.
Teenage girls > Identity > Juvenile literature.
Korean Ameircan families > Comic books, strips, etc.
Korean American families > Juvenile literature.
Korean Americans > Comic books, strips, etc.
Korean Americans > Juvenile literature.
Women immigrants > Biography > Comic books, strips, etc.
Women immigrants > Biography > Juvenile literature.
Authors > Cartoons and comics.
Emigration and immigration > Cartoons and comics.
Immigrants > Cartoons and comics.
Mothers and daughters > Cartoons and comics.
Single mothers > Cartoons and comics.
Teenage girls > Identity > Cartoons and comics.
Korean American families > Cartoons and comics.
Korean Americans > Cartoons and comics.
Women immigrants > Cartoons and comics.
Graphic novels > Juvenile literature.
Korea > Cartoons and comics.
Korea > Comic books, strips, etc.
Korea > Juvenile literature.
Genre: Graphic novels.

Additional Resources