Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The wife upstairs  Cover Image Book Book

The wife upstairs / Rachel Hawkins.

Summary:

"A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, Rachel Hawkins' The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda. Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates--a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name. But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates' most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can't help but see an opportunity in Eddie--not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she's always yearned for. Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie's heart before her past--or his--catches up to her? With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won't stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature's most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?"-- Unedited summary provided by publisher.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250245502
  • ISBN: 1250245508
  • Physical Description: 324 pages ; 21 cm
  • Edition: First St. Martin's Griffin edition.
  • Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Griffin, [2021]
Subject: Gated communities > Fiction.
Dog walking > Fiction.
Widowers > Fiction.
Community life > Fiction.
Genre: Thrillers (Fiction)
Romance fiction.
Novels.

Available copies

  • 2 of 5 copies available at Missouri Evergreen. (Show)
  • 0 of 3 copies available at Cass County.

Holds

  • 1 current hold with 5 total copies.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Cass County Library-Garden City F HAW 2021 (Text) 0002205416874 Adult Fiction Checked out 04/22/2024
Cass County Library-Harrisonville F HAW 2021 (Text) 0002205416882 Adult Fiction Checked out 05/23/2024
Cass County Library-Northern Resource Center F HAW 2021 (Text) 0002206294072 Adult Fiction Checked out 04/15/2024


Additional Resources