Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Black was the ink  Cover Image Book Book

Black was the ink / Michelle Coles.

Coles, Michelle, (author.).

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781643794310
  • ISBN: 1643794310
  • Physical Description: 356 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Tu Books, an imprint of Lee & Low Books, Inc., [2021]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
Malcolm Williams hasn't been okay for a while. He's angry and despondent and feels like nothing good ever happens for teens like him in D.C. All he wants is to be left alone in his room for the summer to draw or play video games--but no such luck. With growing violence in his neighborhood, his mother ships him off to his father's family farm in Mississippi, and Malcolm is anything but pleased.A few days after his arrival, his great-aunt tells him that the State is acquiring the farm to widen a highway. It's not news Malcolm is concerned about, but someone plans to make it his concern. One minute Malcolm is drawing in the farmhouse attic, and the next he's looking through the eyes of his ancestor Cedric Johnson in 1866.As Cedric, Malcolm meets the real-life Black statesmen who fought for change during the Reconstruction era: Hiram Revels, Robert Smalls, and other leaders who made American history. But even after witnessing their bravery, Malcolm's faith in his own future remains shaky, particularly since he knows that the gains these statesmen made were almost immediately stripped away. If those great men couldn't completely succeed, why should he try?Malcolm must decide which path to take. Can Cedric's experiences help him construct a better future? Or will he resign himself to resentments and defeat?Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Nic Stone, and featuring illustrations by upcoming artist, Justin Johnson, Black Was the Ink is a powerful coming-of-age story and an eye-opening exploration of an era that defined modern America.
Target Audience Note:
Ages 13 and up. Tu Books an imprint of Lee & Low Books, Inc.
Grades 10-12. Tu Books an imprint of Lee & Low Books, Inc.
Subject: African Americans > Juvenile fiction.
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) > Juvenile fiction.
Time travel > Juvenile fiction.
Ghost stories.
Families > Juvenile fiction.
Genealogy > Juvenile fiction.
Political activists > Juvenile fiction.

Available copies

  • 1 of 2 copies available at Missouri Evergreen. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Cass County.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 2 total copies.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Cass County Library-Harrisonville YA COL 2021 (Text) 0002205416973 Young Adult Fiction Checked out 11/29/2022


Additional Resources